Apr 23 2014

Who will survive the summer cull?

Manchester_United_2877743bMuch has been made of the urgent need for Manchester United to bring in new recruits this summer as they look to return to the top table of European football and make a swift return to challenging for the Premier League title.

Before Moyes’ sacking yesterday, he seemed likely to oversee a fairly major player exodus in an effort to free up funds and squad space for incoming players. But with the future a little less certain, no full-time manager in place and a man temporarily steering the ship who is not likely to have any say on summer transfers, United’s pursuit of transfer targets will surely be put on hold. But what about departures? With so much spoken about the players not being ‘good enough’, who should survive the cull and who should be shown the door?

Continue reading


Apr 23 2014

Moyes had clear plans for the future

Tag: Opinion Piece @ 11:21 am

rp_moyesbayern-200x200.jpgIts official, David Moyes is no longer the manager of Manchester United. His spell lasted only two hundred and ninety five days.

Judging from Twitter and Facebook etc, I usually spoke for myself when I said I wanted him to stay and to be given more time. Despite this, I had always said he was never the right man for the job. He was, however, chosen by arguably the greatest manager in the history of football, to take the club forward and lead us to more success. After a dreadful season many grew impatient and in the end, so did the club and its owners.

Continue reading


Apr 22 2014

United and “The Wrong One”: what a mess

moyes_3128699At long last a beacon of sensibility managed to shine through the curtain of ineptitude and amateurism that had blanketed over United for the last nine months.

David Moyes has gone and with him, hopefully, so have the dire, turgid football United have served up for the last nine months, the defeatism which seemed to permeate the club from top to bottom and the catastrophically bad press conferences which made Moyes look like a rabbit caught in the headlight.

Continue reading


Apr 22 2014

Farewell To ‘The Chosen One’

IMG_0208So we have, at last, all been put out of our misery.

By ‘all’, I mean the fans, players and certainly David Moyes. The air of inevitability surrounding the defeat to Everton at the weekend was a step too far for the hierarchy at the club who have, at long last, pulled the plug on what has been an outright disaster for the Scotsman.

Continue reading


Apr 21 2014

Moyes and his charlatans have run out of luck: 5 things we’ve learnt from Everton vs United

Tag: Match Reports,Opinion Piece @ 5:09 pm

grim reaperJust when we thought things couldn’t get any worse, United managed to lower their standards even further and yesterday’s shambolic display away at Everton summed up our season: flat, gutless, shocking.

It’s hard to draw any lesson at all from such an atrociously poor performance, but here’s five things we’ve learnt.

Continue reading


Apr 14 2014

Persisting with Moyes could threaten Fergie’s legacy

Tag: Opinion Piece @ 12:17 pm

David MoyesYesterday was a horrible day. Not because my legs felt like they were made of concrete after a 10-mile run or because I started feeling the symptoms of man flu, but because despite forcing myself to support Manchester City for 90 minutes, all I was left with was a bitter taste in my mouth.

That taste quickly became nauseating once I realised just how close Liverpool are to win a first league title since 1990, barely 12 months after Fergie steered us to number 20 last season before calling it a day.  Were Liverpool to win the league, it would be utterly devastating for a number of reasons: nobody saw it coming and media love-in with the scousers is already in full swing, even though they haven’t won it yet.

Continue reading


Apr 10 2014

Moyes, Evra and the end of an era: five things we’ve learnt from Bayern vs United

Tag: Match Reports,Opinion Piece @ 3:38 pm

Thomas Mueller of Bayern Muenchen celebrates scoring his team'sAs of last night, United’s season is as good as over. The upset we had dreamt of – even more intensely for those 22 seconds between Evra’s goal and Mandzukic’s equaliser – wasn’t to be and United, for the first time in a long while, have absolutely nothing to play for between now and May.

Here’s five things we’ve learnt last night.

Continue reading


Apr 10 2014

Has Moyes Created A Monster He Can’t Control?

rp_West-Ham-v-Manchester-United-Wayne-Rooney-sec_3105815-200x200.jpgOne of David Moyes’ projected highlights to come from his first few months as Manchester United boss comes in the form of Wayne Rooney.

Simply that he is still a United player.

At the point of taking the reigns, it seemed that Rooney was as good as gone after becoming disillusioned by life at OT having played second fiddle to Robin van Persie all last year.

Continue reading



Page 1 of 1812345678910...Last »



Switch to our mobile site