Connect with us

Manchester United News

Manchester United 08/09 Season Review – Part III: The Defence

Fortress

In our concluding part of the three part series on our 2008/09 season we take a look at the most important component of our campaign — the defence. A glance at our earlier two parts would give the impression that we’ve been a middling side — with players averaging about 7. The defence would paint a much better picture mirroring the real reason behind our success.

It must be noted, at this point, that a lot of the ratings are taking into account an excellent season, although there may be a tendency among many to chop off a few points off players due to the Champions’ League defeat playing in the minds. It is but natural, but looking at the greater picture of the season, we must try to not let the defeat make an overwhelming impact in our assessment — it surely has an impact, but it shouldn’t be the defining one.

Gary Neville:

A captain who’s been ceremonial in duty and, much as it pains me to say, in performance. Another member of Ferguson’s favoured old guard, he was blighted by injuries and in matches he got a run, he’s not come even close to the full back who used to function as an ancillary winger. And it’s not his fault entirely that the manager continued to pick him. Ferguson’s loyalty is well known, and it works both ways for the Scot. The manager, for his part, tried to give him a run so that he could prove himself. His heart certainly can’t be faulted, but his body continues to fail him. And for that purpose alone, he should be honest with himself, hold his hand up and accept a more diminished role in the club; he spoke recently about a foray into coaching. I think he must concentrate on that and act as a mentor to the up and coming players like Rafael.

Rating: 5.5/10

Patrice Evra:

He was one of the best left backs in the world coming into the season. But today, that may well be debated. Well, he may yet be among the best left backs in the world because there aren’t too many to compete for the honours. 2008/09 was a strange season for Evra. He was good early on, and then served a 4 match ban in December/January. One would think that sort of a rest during a gruelling campaign would work wonders. Well, when he returned against Chelsea, he had a very good game before limping off. But after returning from injury, he seemed well off the pace. He seemed to be neither far up the pitch nor in position to defend. His poor positioning put our defence under enormous pressure on several occasions. In attack, he fell short when it came to providing the final ball or cross. He either got too cute — giving the ball away in the process — or his crosses ended up in row Z. It was a below par season for him compared to his previous season. He’s capable of much better than he showed us this season. Hopefully it was all an aberration.

Rating: 6.5/10

John O’Shea:

I wrote an article on Oct 2007, on why we love John O’Shea. And I still find myself nodding while reading it. I think he — like Fletcher — can do a job when called upon without the whingeing and drama queen attitude we see more of these days. During our record breaking defensive run, there was no Rio Ferdinand (well hardly), and O’Shea did have a more than significant part to play right through the course of the season. Right back, check. Centre half, check. Left back, check. He’ll do the job for us without embarrassing himself, and his importance cannot be more overstated.

Rating: 7/10

Jonathan Evans:

This was a big season for the lad. He was unruffled by the pressure and demands of the league. Also he shook off the nerves that accompany being a part of a big club. The physicality he could handle; the loan spell at Sunderland helped. But the demands and expectations of a Manchester United centre back could daunt even the best. He’s had his share of gaffes — the poor clearance against Porto, and some other lapses in concentration stick out. But for a 21 year old centre back, the future is indeed very bright for the Northern Irishman.

Rating: 7.5/10

Rafael da Silva:

One player who brought much excitement to me personally whenever he played. He was the surprise package. I never expected the Brazilian twins to break into the first team as early as they did. A run in the reserves convinced Fergie to rely on Sir Matt Busby’s words: ‘If your good enough, you’re old enough’. That, and the fact we were hit by injuries at the start of our season. His highlight reel would undoubtedly contain that goal against Arsenal at the Emirates. Still, he is 18, nothing to get carried away by. He shows a lot of promise, as would most talented young players. But will he step it up next season? He has the ingredients that makes a good full back — aggression, good going forward, stamina. He needs to work on his positioning, but then he’s young… you get the drift.

Rating: 7/10

Ben Foster:

His injury proneness is a worry. You don’t want the goal keeper of the future to become the second coming of Louis Saha. His best game was against Spurs in the Carling Cup final. He showed glimpses of what he can offer us. But he’s 26 and needs to get games if we are really to assess how good he really is. There isn’t much I can really gauge from his appearances this season, so I won’t give him a rating.

Edwin van der Sar:

Again, whilst being a decent keeper, he is still prone to indecisiveness and there is an argument that could be made about our defensive record being thanks to our back four. But concentration is a much more important attribute in a goal keeper of a big club because they have to be prepared to wait long minutes without having to make saves. And while he’s been alright, we could do with a better ‘keeper. At 39 it is about time.

Rating: 7.5/10

Rio Ferdinand:

A season blighted by a troublesome back, and an assorted collection of calf and groin injuries. Yet, did well, although not on the same level as the highs of the season before. Yet, I think he’s been better than a lot of people give him credit for, partly because of the blinding form of his partner.

Rating: 8.5/10

Nemanja Vidic:

Fantastic. Mind blowing. Murderous. And add a few more superlatives. (Torres/Eto’o were blurs) Fergie would be absolutely mad if he were to sell him by any chance — would be worse than selling Stam.

Rating: 9.5/10

Honourable mentions go out to Fabio da Silva for his eye catching debut before he limped off to another frustrating injury. But if he stays fit and his exploits in the reserves are something to go by, he will give Evra a real run next season.

And that concludes part III of our season review. Hope you enjoyed it.

99 Comments

99 Comments

  1. Redrich

    11 June 2009 at 05:31

    @Grognard: You’re right, but Friedel at 38, looks better than VDS at 40. Getting him at that age might be easier than you think!!
    Also, it just might buy the time that Foster needs to heal and mature!!

  2. Grognard

    11 June 2009 at 05:56

    I’ve got to say the boys over at Marca and all the other tabloid shit disposals for online footy seem to be sure that Ronaldo is going to Real. One says 85 million. The other says 72 million and one even says 89 million. They all say that a Real Madrid doctor has been sent to LA to meet with Ronaldo and check him over and that Fergie wants a one to one sit down with Ronaldo as he needs to put in a transfer request before they decide. This time though, Fergie is not going to chase the lad down and fly to convince him that he should stay. Well I don’t know what to make of all this except I am disturbed that United isn’t coming out to deny anything. Therefore, I am starting to believe that Senior Perez may actually have the golden touch in sweet talking the OT hierarchy into parting with their golden boy. Well, whether the rumours are true or not you know what the Grognard says? Let him go. Let him go. Enough already.

    TO RONALDO THE EGOMANIAC;

    So you don’t want to be a United player and a team legend and you want all that pressure to perform in Spain where they will roast you for every bad play you make just because you cost them a fortune? Go ahead. Leave. Good riddance to you. I love you as a player but your arrogance and ego have taken over your soul and pea sized brain and turned you into an exasperating, irritating, selfish, greedy, temperamental and petulant little drama queen. Frankly, despite your enormous talent, you have become an embarrassment to Manchester United. A club that has the heroes of Munich, The Busby Babes, George Best, Bobby Charlton, Dennis Law, Bryan Robson, Eric Cantona, Roy Keane, Ryan Giggs, Paul Scholes and dozens more to look back on with pride knowing that they not only gave their best for the club, the bled red for the rest of their lives because once United, always United.

    I cannot expect a pint sized intellect like yours having been brought up in the streets of Medeira to understand what it means to be a Manchester United player. To know that, you should ask some of the legends. Better yet, why not ask some of the players from other teams like Liverpool, Man City, Arsenal, Chelsea etc? They fully know what it means to be a Manchester United player because they got sick and tired of losing to them and watching them lift trophy after trophy after trophy for the past 40 years or so. To best respect those wearing the red, you should be on the losing side of one of those opposing teams that never or rarely ever get a chance to feel that joy and accomplishment.

    How can we expect a gutter rat from Medeira to fully understand the history and the meaning behind being a United player. When all you could possibly understand in your small country and small mind is what it would be like to play for a major club in Spain. That’s all you pinheads know due to your poverty stricken upbringing and lack of education. Spain and Portugal is the center of the world to those who speak Portuguese or Spanish. Never have I come across a race of people like Latino’s who only can see two things in their minds eye, Barcelona and Real Madrid. I just don’t get it. 🙄 Talk about tunnel vision and being close minded.

    Right now I am angry as Hell at you Cristiano but I am not going to call you a traitor or lower myself and call you a bunch of unkind things. For me you were an outstanding and gifted player who I was overjoyed to see play for our club for six seasons. I wouldn’t say six seasons is a great show of loyalty but I’ll give you credit for coming here knowing full well that your heart was always somewhere else. That’s fine. But I will say that despite the fact I loved and appreciated the way you played the game and how you helped elevate United to worldwide glory, I will not miss that personality of yours and those childish antics. Perhaps it is time to say goodbye and wish you luck because to be honest,lately I find it more infuriating watching you wear the red than imagining you without it. So if you choose to jump ship, good luck to you, thanks for the memories and all the luck to you. But just remember a couple parting thoughts that I throw at you. Mark my word, you will regret the day you decide to go play for that circus of clowns and secondly, grow the fuck up and stop dressing like a girl. The best of luck to you. See you, wouldn’t want to be you. 😎

    Yours truly,

    The Grognard…..United for life and without the millions to show for it.

  3. Grognard

    11 June 2009 at 06:06

    @Redrich: But why invest in a player who can give us no more than a season or two? It’s not smart business and it’s certainly not the way United run things. We never ever go buy old folks from other teams. Lately we have had our problem getting rid of some of our own, but we are not in the habit of buying other team’s senior citizens. Just not who we are. So although Friedel is a class keeper, you are definitely barking up the wrong tree there. We need to find a keeper who is 24, 25 or 26 who can be with us for ten seasons. Keepers who are great generally stay with one club for a long time. That’s what we need. We need security and longevity at that position. I would rather go for a great young keeper like Adler, Neuer, Akinfeev, Frey or Boruc. I’d even go for the older Buffon because he is still young enough to give us 5 or 6 great years at least. But what you and I want is really irrelevant. Fergie I think is content with RVN for one more year and then i think he will settle for Foster. I hope not, but I think that is what he will do.

  4. johnsom33

    11 June 2009 at 06:14

    @Grognard: how much would akinfeev cost?

  5. Redrich

    11 June 2009 at 06:34

    @Grognard: My point is that Rooney will, indeed, fulfill his potential with United – but not with his current crop of associates!
    You again, make a very simple and convenient argument that SAF (the very same one that has developed team after team, championship after championship, cup winners after cup winners, believers out of doubters) has his heinousness hand waved over this travisty.
    I find it hard to recognize any form of believability in all of this and frankly I think you should develop a new angle.
    To me it’s getting old and uncreative. Frankly it’s demeaning of someone who, I felt, had ideas to offer this forum!!

  6. Redrich

    11 June 2009 at 06:39

    @Grognard: We bought VDS at an old age because it suited our needs. He has served us well. Why not go back into that nest???

  7. Merlinus

    11 June 2009 at 07:12

    @Grognard: “They fully know what it means to be a Manchester United player because they got sick and tired of losing to them and watching them lift trophy after trophy after trophy for the past 40 years or so. To best respect those wearing the red, you should be on the losing side of one of those opposing teams that never or rarely ever get a chance to feel that joy and accomplishment.”

    You can argue this only if our prima donna is moving to a lesser club like shitty or chelscum(history)..
    Real Madrid is simply a much bigger club and full of royalties 😆 ..

    Spain is another attraction.. you cannot blame him for leaving..

  8. RedDevilEddy

    11 June 2009 at 07:20

    @Grognard: Well said, my thoughts exactly. Honestly, exactly my thoughts! Ive loved the skill of Ronaldo, the player. But his personality is horrible. For real United fans, those who have suffered the many losses, the relegations and the trophyless seasons, those who were alive when Busby and company crached in Munich, this is an utter disgrace. Not only do I wonder whether Ronaldo has the inteligence of a wood door, but I wonder if he really knows that football is much, much more than a game?! Cause if he really doesnt understand that, then he is not worthy of being a footballer. He doesnt deserve his skill, his tenacity, his winning, and he certannly doesnt deserve to be playing for a club like Manchetser United. How must the current players that bleed United red, Scholsy, Wazza, Neville, Giggsy, Rio etc. feel when they see a friend of them acting like shit when they have dedicated their whole life to this cause. ITS A FUCKING DISGRACE!!! 😡

    I see it this way. For Ronaldo to dream of Real, I can understand it. If any of us were playing for a team like Real, Inter or possibly Lyon, we would jump at the chance of joining United if they made a bid or somethign like that. I would have no problem if nothing was said all summer, but I would wake up one morning and read the papers that Ronaldo had left for Real. I wouldnt be happy, but I wouldnt be as discusted as I am now. Although Ronaldo may not have that much a fault in this when it comes to talking with the press, because its Real who really has done all the talking(FUCKING CUNTS!!!), but his on field theatrics have been discusting to watch. Him critisising Fergies tactics in the final, screaming “WHAT?!” when he misses a sitter, slamming a west onto the ground when many millions are watching, and I could go on as there are numerous occasions when I have been embarrased by Ronaldo. He is not worthy of being a United player, and I am close to begging for him to leave for Real… 🙄

  9. Merlinus

    11 June 2009 at 07:23

    Wonder, what position will ronnie play if he goes to madrid? ❗ ..

    He might also start wearing pink boots.. :mrgreen: mark my words..

  10. Darth Red Diablo

    11 June 2009 at 07:25

    @Grognard: Groggy… Groggy… You never learn old boy.. Do You? 😀
    Well… Prepare to be Diablofied! 😈 😈

  11. Darth Red Diablo

    11 June 2009 at 07:27

    @RedDevilEddy: I just hope that that expressionless shite Dutchmen called the Hunter isn’t part of the deal….
    Cause frankly, he is going to slow United down again and whenever a player gets the ball… They’ll just be launching it upwards….
    Frankly, The idiot Hunter doesn’t have the premier league pace or strength!
    Frankly! HE’s SHITE! 😈 😆 😆 ❗

  12. RedDevilEddy

    11 June 2009 at 07:31

    For that matter, this team doesnt look so bad:

    Foster
    Rafael Rio Vidic Evra
    Valencia Carrick Hargreaves Sneijder
    Rooney
    Huntelaar

    If we could get, and there is a big IF, £89 million for Ronaldo, with Huntelaar and Sniejder coming the other way, I dont really see the problem. I really dont think that team may win the title the first season, because its many new faces and we will have to develop a whole new style of play. It would be more crosses, deadlier finishing, more pace. But we would lose that massive unpredictability, the one player that is a complete all around. Rooney, and this is not only based on his performances for England lately, has been massive, MASSIVE, when being played behind the striker. He was that when he first arrived, but then Fergie became confused and ruined some of his game. Now Rooney has recovered that, and if Fergie could get a real target man he would be able to use Rooney the way he is supposed to. Valencia is quick, has a good foot. Alright dribbling skills, not of the caliber of Ronaldo, but good enough. Ive always liked Valencia, and I believe that Real will let us have him if we get Ronny. Sneijder is a player I have admired for a long time, and Ive always wanted him to join us. Maybe short and a little weak, but he is just as creative as you get. He a brilliant shootin foot, takes marvellous free-kicks. Fast, good crosser and passer, team player also. And of cource with Huntelaar we would get that deadly finishing we have craved for more than two season…

  13. RedDevilEddy

    11 June 2009 at 07:36

    @Darth Red Diablo: He is waaay to slow and doesnt know hoe to play in a team. Even though a good finisher, I rate him no higher than Inzaghi when it comes to footballing ability. The guy is shite, I havent seen such a bad footballer since Riquelme! The thing Huntelaar can do with a football, Roy Carroll can do with an orange… 😆

  14. Merlinus

    11 June 2009 at 07:39

    @RedDevilEddy: “bad footballer since Riquelme!”??? ❓ JUAN ROMAN R_I_Q_U_E_L_M_E >>??? ARE YOU OUT OF YOUR FREAKIN’ MIND! 😯

  15. Darth Red Diablo

    11 June 2009 at 07:42

    @Merlinus: We’re talking about the Paraguain Riquelme! 😀

  16. Dan

    11 June 2009 at 07:50

    i have an idea, how about we play, ben foster in goal 🙄

  17. RedDevilEddy

    11 June 2009 at 07:52

    @Merlinus: To answer that question you asked me without any hesitation or thoughts about what might follow from my simple answer who many may believe will be short and direct, but also smart and inteligently said, although even some people may wonder what has gotten into RedDevilEddy for making such a short answer: Yes.

  18. jos

    11 June 2009 at 07:54

    @Grognard: One keeper I am hearing that is being liked to us is Diego Lopez of Villareal! He kept us quiet for both CL games this season, and has been outstanding for them this year. At 27 years of age he is quite young and dons a 6’5 frame that has some presence in the box. He cud be a good signing (supposing PIG going on the other side… so that we’ll still have VDS, PIG and Lopez). Frankly Utd are too good and big a club to have PIG as one of the goalies in their rooster! hes too bad!

  19. jos

    11 June 2009 at 07:56

    @Dan: whos ben foster?
    the one whos always in the sickbay? is he in love with the nurses over there?

  20. Darth Red Diablo

    11 June 2009 at 07:58

    @Dan: Why don’t we sign that Over Hyped guy called Adler? 😆
    I mean a certain someone on this blog… ABSOLUTELY ADORES him! I mean grow up people! A keeper in a shit league called the German Bundesliga cannot cut it! 👿

  21. jos

    11 June 2009 at 08:14

    @Darth Red Diablo: overhyped!
    Dude Adler is class. I would be over the moon if he comes to play for us. Just that Fergie sleeps with his back firmly towards Germany. He cant spot any quality players over there!!!

    Adler is also a boyhood Utd fan!!! He can solve our GK problem for next 10-15 years! We have to put up with a fumbling VDS ( how he couldnt stop Eto’o from scoring but notice how good Barca keeper at other end was! i am sure if VDS was at the other end we wud have scored 1-2 goals easily ). Im not saying VDS is bad but he is not the top class keeper (not in the same class as Casillas, Buffoon, even Cech is better and younger). PIG is honestly a liability. He is horrible with his distribution and is always very nervous with ball at his feet and Foster is busy screwing the nurses at utd sickbay! We need a big GK soon.

  22. Darth Red Diablo

    11 June 2009 at 08:28

    @RedDevilEddy: Eddy… Why don’t we become twins? I hereby christen you as Darth RedDiablo Eddy!

  23. Stephen

    11 June 2009 at 09:20

    @Dan: He is not Benni Fostinho mate! 😆 😆

  24. Merlinus

    11 June 2009 at 09:32

    Signing Ancellotti is an excellent move by Abrahamobitch(lucky?).. Most of chelski’s players are ageing.. the italian works wonders with them.. Football will become much slower and a little more cerebral.. instead of the mindless running, which is what defines epl these days, tactical ploys will be very interesting to watch.. only if chelhounds submit to the will of their manager and relearn football.. I fear they could become a real force to reckon with.. ❗

  25. Merlinus

    11 June 2009 at 10:12

    RONALDO SOLD! 80 M FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK!!! check the news! OFFICIAL FUCKING STATEMENT!! ❗ 😆 😮 😉 😛 😳 💡 😀 :mrgreen:

  26. Merlinus

    11 June 2009 at 10:13

    80 m POUNDS!!!

  27. Merlinus

    11 June 2009 at 10:19

    People! people! people!!! HOLY FUCK! 😯 😯 😯

  28. miele

    11 June 2009 at 10:20

    @Redrich: Sorry, who’s not big enough, buffon or Grognard’s German lovechild? 😛

  29. miele

    11 June 2009 at 10:25

    So it is: http://www.manutd.com/default.sps?pagegid=%7BB4CEE8FA%2D9A47%2D47BC%2DB069%2D3F7A2F35DB70%7D&newsid=6634291

    We better get Ribery or someone’s house will get firebombed 👿 👿 👿

  30. Merlinus

    11 June 2009 at 10:38

    next year’s classico will have ronaldo kaka messi ibrahimovic iniesta villa ribery etc! MY GOD! 😯

  31. Merlinus

    11 June 2009 at 11:20

    :mrgreen:
    madrid next target villa..
    possibly alonso..
    they are rocking! 😈

  32. Grognard

    11 June 2009 at 16:45

    @johnsom33: I have no idea. I’ve never read what the Russian club values him at. My guess would be around 12 to 15 million.

  33. Grognard

    11 June 2009 at 16:50

    @Redrich: I’m supposed to believe that a club that has won the Premier League three times in a row, and has just recently been dethroned as European champions is not good enough to supply and support Rooney? Bollocks! When Rooney plays the role of second striker for us he scores. It’s that simple. When he plays up front on his own or when he is forced to move to the left side he struggles to score more. That’s due to Fergie’s tactical decisions and in part, to our weakness in attack and defense on the left side. And although I have said that United need a play maker in midfield to help set up the boys up front, Rooney has never struggled to get his opportunities or even score his goals when he has been used properly. The problem with Rooney is that he has only been used properly at United 30% of the time.

  34. Grognard

    11 June 2009 at 16:53

    @Redrich: “It’s getting old and uncreative”. This isn’t an art class mate. I’m telling you the way I see it. I am not trying to concoct new excuses every week to keep things interesting because the one excuse I have come up with is one that I firmly believe in. So sue me. 🙄 It’s not like the verbal diarrhea you were spouting the other day about players coming and going. Personally I found that lacking in creativity because it so lacked in plausibility.

  35. Grognard

    11 June 2009 at 16:56

    @Redrich: You want your team riddled with a bunch of retirement home applicants, that’s fine, it’s your prerogative. I on the other hand am looking at the big picture and imagining this team five and 7 years down the line. EVDS will be 45 or 47 by that time and Friedel (your great solution) will be 43 or 45. Is that what you want for United in the future? It’s time to bring in younger players who have a chance to build a long tenure with the team. You do not do this by attracting player who are on their last legs to come to OT.

  36. Grognard

    11 June 2009 at 16:58

    @Merlinus: Oh I can blame him for leaving and I will. Just watch me. 😉 And Madrid is not that much bigger a club than us. The only difference is their seasonal revenues are not being eaten up by useless pretenders known as the Glazers trying to pay off a debt for something they bought which was bigger than they could handle.

  37. RedDevilEddy

    11 June 2009 at 17:01

    @Grognard: Grog, we are having a party in the newest post! Com join us! 😀

  38. Grognard

    11 June 2009 at 17:02

    @Darth Red Diablo: Yesterday I would have been fine with it but put it on the back burner for a while because truthfully, I am too pissed off with the Ronaldo situation that I cannot honestly focus my attention and sense of humour on this until I calm my nerves over ROnaldo leaving United for Satan’s Lounge. So hold off for the next time you are bored. 😀

  39. Grognard

    11 June 2009 at 17:08

    @RedDevilEddy: This is just comical. You guys are only making me laugh with your intentional lets get the Grognard banter. Come on, you can do better than that. Have you forgotten Ballack or how about Germany and Bayern Munich. For that matter, I will not sleep well unless you put down “Total Football”, The German National team, the Dutch teams of the 70’s, Beckenbauer, Muller, Maier, Netzer, Breitner, Rummenigge, Matthaus. Klinsmann and of course you must praise everything and everyone involved with Italian football. Have I missed anything? 😆 😆

  40. Grognard

    11 June 2009 at 17:11

    @Merlinus: They are intentionally having a go at me mate because they know Riquleme, Huntelaar and some others are players I love. They are bored and when bored, children must play. 😀 Fortunately I have such good taste in players that I never have to show my face and walk the streets and have people stare at me and say, “Look, there goes a hopelessly sad Anderson fan. Poor bloke, he knows not what he does. He really needs help.” I mean I could be that sad which I’m thankful I’m not. 😀

  41. Grognard

    11 June 2009 at 17:12

    @Darth Red Diablo: I thought he was from Togo? 😉

  42. Grognard

    11 June 2009 at 17:13

    @Dan: I don’t think they will allow any players to bring their IV bottle and hospital bed or wheel chair onto the field of play mate. 😉

  43. Grognard

    11 June 2009 at 17:16

    @jos: What I worry about however with keepers form Spain is can he handle a cross or a corner kick. Spanish keepers or many keepers who have played many years in Spain are not very proficient at fundamentals of the game that are vital for success in England. The Spurs keeper Gomez was a perfect example of my argument. He came from PSV with a big reputation as a great shot stopper and he proved that. But he was woeful on high balls and almost lost his job because of it.

  44. Grognard

    11 June 2009 at 17:18

    @Darth Red Diablo: While your at it, don’t forget to put down Boruc, Akinfeev, Frey and especially my favorite, Neuer. They too are utter shite I’m sure because I said they were great. Hell what do I know?

  45. Grognard

    11 June 2009 at 17:21

    @jos: He’s just playing with me mate. Trying to get on the Grognard’s nerves with a juvenile attack on all I believe in and love in the game. Don’t take him seriously. Unfortunately he has not placed a disclaimer next to his comments stating that the comment is for my eyes only and that the comment is coming from a three year old pratt. 😀

  46. Grognard

    11 June 2009 at 17:24

    @Darth Red Diablo: Wouldn’t Darth Ed Diablo work better. And yes Eddy, you should join up with your Muppet partner so that this site can officially merge your comments together and publish them under the name Darth Ernie and Bert Diablo. I like it.

  47. Grognard

    11 June 2009 at 17:32

    @Merlinus: You are not preaching to the choir here mate. Most everyone here hates the way United play which is the Ancelotti model of slow possession controlled build up. It works and it especially succeeds in Europe but the English like their fast paced 4-4-2 football and nobody is going to convince them that what Ancelotti brings to the League is going to be a better product. I love the European style of football that Germany and the Dutch believe in. It’s a hybrid of English, Brazilian and Italian football all in one with a pinch of Norhtern European work ethic, graft and skill. What I would like to see is a top German or Dutch manager come to the EPL for a long stay and lets see what they do. And I am not talking about the Jol’s and Gullets. I am talking about the Hiddink’s and Van Gaal’s as well as the Hitzfeld’s and Magath’s. Hell, I think Juergen Klinsmann is perfect for England and not for Germany. Klinsmann like fast paced attacking football and is a fan of 4-4-2. But instead this league continues to bring in pragmatic pedestrian
    utilitarian managers who have made this league a colossal bore.

  48. Red Ranter

    11 June 2009 at 17:47

    @Grognard: You are still posting here? 😯 There is a separate post that talks about the transfer of some player from a club to Real Madrid. You might be interested. 🙂

  49. Grognard

    11 June 2009 at 20:49

    @Red Ranter: I answer all posts addressed to me with a reply mate. For those who care, they will return to read it. The time change is a big disadvantage for me and so I need to catch up on unfinished business before I move on.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest News

Topics